Beta readers wanted!

Descent arrives Dec. 29, 2021, but you can read it early by being a beta reader! Or you can pre-order your copy today, but clicking this link.

Beta readers are a major part of the writing process for most writers. They help catch issues with manuscript that a writer, far too close to it, might miss or not even consider. For the beta reader, they get to read a book before anyone else! It is a win-win situation for all parties involved.

With my second wave of revisions complete, I’m looking for speedy readers who can get through an approximately 148K book by the first week of November. I’ll be using the new StoryOrigin beta reader feature for Descent. Interested readers need only click the button below to request beta reader access. Haven’t read the first book, Heritage Lost? No worries! I’ve included a synopsis and character list in StoryOrigin to aid new readers to the series.

Below is the back cover blurb for Descent. It is a blend of space opera and military sci-fi in the vein of Battlestar Galactica, Firefly, Star Wars, and Dark Matter.

Torn between past and present, some allegiances die hard.

Plasovern leader Hedda Strom has fulfilled her promise for Sotiris, almost to a miraculous level silencing his genetic mutation. With this achievement, it now falls on former Magistrate captain Katya Cassius to pay the price, as Strom tolerates no freeloaders. However, the cost may be steeper than she’s willing to pay, requiring her to entirely turn against former comrades and her adoptive family in a campaign to destabilize the Magistrate.

While Katya struggles with her former loyalties, Mina has embraced Plasovern’s cause, threatening to tear their relationship asunder. Building tension within Plasovern and Mina’s push to join one of its cells forces Katya to pursue alternative routes to Strom—even risking her wrath. 

As the Magistrate’s fringe space spirals into chaos and Sotiris’s medical needs limit options, Katya’s only recourse may be a return to her original homeworld, a place she fears for the truth it may hold.

Published by smwright

Sarah Wright is the author of The Heritage Lost Series and several other works of speculative fiction. Professionally, she works as a staff writer and editor at a newspaper/magazine company. She enjoys interweaving her love of history into her writing, even in the most fantastic settings.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: